FlexFuel Awareness Campaign National FFV Awareness Campaign
Do You Have a FFV? Find FlexFuel How Can You Help? In the News National Updates State Updates FAQs Home Contact Us

Wisconsin FFV Awareness Campaign

The American Lung Association is the oldest volunteer health organization in the nation. Learn how we're fighting the nation's third leading killer…lung disease. The American Lung Association of the Upper Midwest (ALAUM) is a recognized public charity under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and is registered to do business in the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

Clean Fuels: E85

What is E85?
E85 is a fuel blend of ethyl alcohol and gasoline. E85 is designed for use in flexible fuel vehicles (FFVs). GM FFVs when fueled with E85 are recognized as a Clean Air ChoiceTM.

Why is E85 a Clean Air ChoiceTM?
A typical FFV driver can prevent 4 tons of lifecycle CO2 and other pollutants from entering our air every year by simply fueling with E85 instead of gasoline. Additionally, using E85 can reduce ozone-forming pollutants by 20% and evaporative emissions by 25% or more. Please visit the Pollutants section to learn more about the different air pollutants.

Okay, what about other benefits?
E85 has been labeled a Clean Air ChoiceTM, however, this option also has additional benefits:

  • Renewable - ethanol is produced from renewable feedstocks like corn and other grain products. In the future it may be produced from agricultural and forestry wastes & specially grown energy crops.
  • Closer to Home - ethanol is produced closer to home instead of being imported from other counties.
  • Local Economy - feedstocks are grown and fuel is produced locally - creating jobs and supporting local economies.
  • Kick the oil addiction - E85 is one way we can begin to reduce our dependence on oil today.

Please visit E85 Frequently Asked Questions to learn more about E85. If you have any questions that are not answered on the website, contact your local Clean Air ChoiceTM office.

The American Lung Association of the Upper Midwest contact information:

American Lung Association of the Upper Midwest
490 Concordia Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55103-2241
Telephone: 800-LUNG-USA 800-LUNG-USA
Fax: 651-281-0242
Email: cleanairchoice@lungum.org

Robert Moffitt, Director - Media Relations –Robert.Moffitt@lungmn.org
Media inquiries during and after hours - 651-269-7561 651-269-7561


American Lung Association in Illinois
3000 Kelly Lane, Springfield, IL 62711
Phone: 217-787-5864 217-787-5864
Toll Free: 800-LUNG-USA 800-LUNG-USA
Fax: 217-787-5916
Email: info@lungil.org

Angela Tin, Vice President - atin@lungil.org
Matt Marcum, Manager –mmarcum@lungil.org
Melinda Lewis, Coordinator –melinda.lewis@lungil.org
Crystal Kirsch Bolliger, Coordinator –crystal.kirsch@lungil.org
Jason Haupt, Coordinator –jason.haupt@lungil.org


American Lung Association in Indiana
4321 Flagstaff Cove, Fort Wayne, IN 46815
Telephone: 260-415-9294 260-415-9294
Toll Free: 800-LUNG-USA 800-LUNG-USA
Fax: 260-486-5187
Email: cleanairchoice@lungum.org


American Lung Association in Iowa
2530 73rd St., Des Moines, IA 50322
Telephone: 515-309-9507 515-309-9507
Toll Free: 800-LUNG-USA 800-LUNG-USA
Fax: 515-334-9564
Email: info@lungil.org


American Lung Association in Minnesota
490 Concordia Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55103
Telephone: 651-227-8014 651-227-8014
Toll Free: 800-LUNG-USA 800-LUNG-USA
Fax: 651-281-0242
Email: cleanairchoice@lungum.org

Kelly Marczak, Director–Kelly.Marczak@lungmn.org
Lisa Thurstin, Manager –Lisa.Thurstin@lungmn.org
Emily Herman, Coordinator –Emily.Herman@lungmn.org


American Lung Association in North Dakota
212 N. 2nd Street, Bismarck, ND 58501
Phone: 701-255-4143 701-255-4143
Toll Free: 800-252-6325 800-252-6325
Fax: 701-223-5727

Don Kaiser, Coordinator–Don.Kaiser@lungnd.org


American Lung Association in South Dakota
108 E 38th St Ste 600, Sioux Falls SD 57105
Phone: 605-336-7222 605-336-7222
Toll Free: 800-873-5864 800-873-5864
Fax: 605-336-7227
Email: lung@americanlungsd.org

Lindsey McKenzie, Coordinator –Lindsey.McKenzie@lungsd.org


American Lung Association in Wisconsin
13100 W. Lisbon Road, Suite 700, Brookfield, WI 53005-2508
Phone: 262-703-4200 262-703-4200
Fax: 262-781-5180
Email: amlung@lungwisconsin.org

Dona Wininsky, Director - Dona.Wininsky@lungwi.org
Jolene McNutt, Coordinator –jolene.mcnutt@lungwi.org

 

Wisconsin FFV Awareness Campaign